Minutes Flatonia City Council Special Meeting

March 31, 2020

Present:

Mayor Bryan Milson

Councilpersons Catherine Steinhauser

Donna Cockrell
Dennis Geesaman
Ginny Sears
Mark Eversole

City Staff Sarah Novo – City Manager

Melissa Brunner – City Secretary

Angela Beck – City Attorney – via telephone

Jack Pavlas – Utility Director Lee Dick – Police Chief

Opening Agenda

• Mayor Milson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

• Councilman Dennis Geesaman gave the invocation. Mayor Milson led the pledges.

• There were no citizens who wished to participate in the meeting.

Consent Agenda

Donna Cockrell motioned to approve the consent agenda, to include the Minutes of the March 10, 2020 Regular Meeting. Ginny Sears seconded the motion. None opposed. Motion carried.

Deliberation Agenda

- 3.2-2020.1. City Manager Novo presented her monthly report to Council.
- 3.2-2020.2. Ginny Sears motioned to adopt the resolution ratifying, reinstating, continuing and renewing the Declaration of Disaster as signed by Mayor Bryan Milson on March 24, 2020 that continues the Declaration for sixty days. Catherine Steinhauser seconded the motion.
- 3.2-2020.3. Donna Cockrell motioned to approve the lease agreement between the City of Flatonia and City Manager Sarah Novo regarding the City Manager Residence located at 1133 E USH 90, Flatonia, TX 78941. Mark Eversole seconded the motion. None opposed. Motion carried.
- 3.2-2020.4. Dennis Geesaman motioned to adopt the resolution to postpone the May 2, 2020 general election for the election of mayor and two councilmembers to November 3, 2020. Ginny Sears seconded the motion. None opposed. Motion carried.
- 3.2-2020.5. Dennis Geesaman motioned to take no action on the lease agreement between the City of Flatonia and Fayette County for the lease of election equipment for the May 2, 2020 Flatonia General Election. Catherine Steinhauser seconded the motion. None opposed. Motion carried.
- 3.2-2020.6. Dennis Geesaman motioned to take no action on the appointment of an election judge and election clerks for the May 2, 2020 Flatonia General Election. Mark Eversole seconded the motion. None opposed. Motion carried.

- 3.2-2020.7. Ginny Sears motioned to re-appoint Sheila Novak, Lisa Kirtley, Len Waska and Kirby Farek to the Planning and Zoning Commission for the term of 5/1/20 4/30/22. Catherine Steinhauser seconded the motion. None opposed. Motion carried.
- 3.2-2020.8. Catherine Steinhauser motioned to re-appoint Brad Cosson, Bryan Milson, Valerie Targac and Ashley Beeman to the Parks Committee for the term of 5/1/20 4/30/22. Ginny Sears seconded the motion. None opposed. Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:30 p.m.

Approved this 12th day of May 2020.

Signed

Bryan Milson Mayor

Attest

Melissa Brunner, TRMC, CMC City Secretary

